Big Surmise
close me

List of Chief Justices
SI Name From To Appointed By
01H. J. KaniaJanuary 26, 1950November 6, 1950Dr. Rajendra Prasad
02M. Patanjali SastriNovember 7, 1950January 3, 1954Dr. Rajendra Prasad
03Mehr Chand MahajanJanuary 4, 1954December 22, 1954Dr. Rajendra Prasad
04Bijan Kumar MukherjeaDecember 23, 1954January 31, 1956Dr. Rajendra Prasad
05Sudhi Ranjan DasFebruary 1, 1956September 30, 1959Dr. Rajendra Prasad
06Bhuvaneshwar Prasad SinhaOctober 1, 1959January 31, 1964Dr. Rajendra Prasad
07P.B. Gujendra GadkarFebruary 1, 1964March 15, 1966Dr. S. Radhakrishnan
08Amul Kumar SarkarMarch 16, 1966June 29, 1966Dr. S. Radhakrishnan
09Kola Subbu RaoJune 30, 1966April 11, 1967Dr. S. Radhakrishnan
10Kailash Nath WanchooApril 12, 1967February 24, 1968Dr. S. Radhakrishnan
11Mohomand HidayatullahFebruary 25, 1968December 16, 1970Dr. Zakir Hussain
12Jayantilal Chhotalal ShahDecember 17, 1970January 21, 1971V.V. Giri
13Sarv Mittra SikriJanuary 22, 1971April 25, 1973V.V. Giri
14Ajit Nath RayApril 26, 1973January 27, 1977V.V. Giri
15Mirza Hameedullah BegJanuary 28, 1977February 21, 1978F. Ali Ahmed
16Yeshwant Vishnu ChandrachudFebruary 22, 1978July 11, 1985Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
17Prafulla Chandra Natwarlal BhagwatiJuly 12, 1985December 20, 1986Gaini Zail Singh
18Raghunandan Swarup PathakDecember 21, 1986June 18, 1989Gaini Zail Singh
19Engalaguppe Seetharamiah VenkataramiahJune 19, 1989December 17, 1989Sri. R. Venkataraman
20Subyasachi MukharjiDecember 18, 1989September 24, 1990Sri. R. Venkataraman
21Ranganath MisraSeptember 25, 1990November 24, 1991Sri. R. Venkataraman
22Kamal Narain SinghNovember 25, 1991December 12, 1991Sri. R. Venkataraman
23Madhukar Hiralal KaniaDecember 13, 1991November 17, 1992Sri. R. Venkataraman
24Lalit Mohan SharmaNovember 18, 1992February 11, 1993Dr. S.D. Sharma
25Manepalli Narayana Rao VenkatachaliahFebruary 12, 1993October 24, 1994Dr. S.D. Sharma
26Aziz Mushabber AhmadiOctober 25, 1994March 24, 1997Dr. S.D. Sharma
27Jagdish Sharma VermaMarch 25, 1997January 17, 1998Dr. S.D. Sharma
28Madan Mohan AnandJanuary 18, 1998October 9, 1998K.R. Narayanan
29Adarsh Sein AnandOctober 10, 1998January 11, 2001K.R. Narayanan
30Sam Piroj BharuchaJanuary 12, 2001May 6, 2002K.R. Narayanan
31Bhupinder nath KirpalMay 7, 2002November 7, 2002K.R. Narayanan
32Gopal Ballav PattanaikNovember 8, 2002December 18, 2002Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam
33V. N. KhareDecember 19, 2002May 1, 2004Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam
34S. Rajendra BabuMay 2, 2004May 31, 2004Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam
35Ramesh Chandra LahotiJune 1, 2004November 1, 2005Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam
36Yogesh kumar SabharwalNovember 1, 2005January 13, 2007Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam
37K.G. BalakrishnaJanuary 13, 2007May 12, 2010Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam
38S. H. KapadiaMay 12, 2010September 28, 2012Mrs. Pratibha devi Singh Patil
39Altamas KabirSeptember 29, 2012July 18, 2013Pranab Mukherjee
40P. SathasivamJuly 19, 2013April 26, 2014Pranab Mukherjee
41Rajendra Mal LodhaApril 27, 2014September 27, 2014Pranab Mukherjee
42H. L . DattuSeptember 28, 20142 December 2015Pranab Mukherjee
43T. S. Thakur3 December 20153 January 2017Pranab Mukherjee
44Chief Justic of India Jagdish Singh Khehar4 January 2017Till DatePranab Mukherjee
A Person, who is qualified to be appointed as Judge of Supreme Court (SC), is appointed by President. He is assisted by the two Solicitor General and four additional Solicitors General.

Doordarshan Live TV News
My IP Address :
My City : Ashburn (Virginia)

Big Surmise
National Events

  • Jai Ram Thakur as CM of Himachal Pradesh
  • Vijay Ramniklal Rupani conttinuded as CM of Gujarat
  • The former union Minister, Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi passed away
  • Attempt unsuccessful as World record by a team of army
  • Rajput protesters against to Padmavati Film
  • International Events

  • Malala Yousafzai named for UN Messenger of Peace
  • Kaci Kullmann Five no more
  • Russian ambassador killed in Turkey
  • Donald John Trump became 45th President of US
  • Four agreements signed between India & UAE
  • Business Events

  • Modi Government will implement GST Bill in month of April 2017
  • Kalyan Krishnamurthy new Flipkart CEO
  • 500 and 1000 rupee notes banned in India
  • Urjit R. Patel to be new Governor of Reserve Bank of India (RBI)
  • Goods and Services Tax (GST) in Rayja Sabha Tomorrow (3rd August)
  • Sports Events

  • Shashank Manohar resigns from ICC
  • Gujarata Samit Gohel breake 117 years records
  • Sindhu clinched maiden Super Series Premier title
  • Narinder Dhruv Batra became head of International body of an Olympic sport
  • Mariyappan Thangavelu wins Gold and Varun Singh Bhati wins bronze medal
  • ISRO to launch its most advanced rocket GSLV mark-III
  • ISRO launching 104 satellites and create world history
  • Reusable Launch Vehicle-Technology Demonstrator (RLV-TD)
  • ISRO will launch Indian Regional Navigation Satellite System (IRNSS)
  • Dr. Rakesh Jain, Indian American professor wins Medal of Science
  • www.bigsurmise.com © 2017 all right reserved