The Centre of eLearning
List of Vice Presidents of India

List of Vice Presidents of India

01Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishna1952-1962First Vice President of India and the second President of India
02Dr. Zakir Hussain1962-1967Second Vice President of India. 3rd President of India.
03V. V. Giri1967-1969Elected Vice President of India in 1967. 4th President of the Republic of India.
04Gopal Swarup Pathak1969-1974Fourth Vice President of India
05B. D. Jatti1974-1979Fifth Vice-President of India. Acting President of India from 11 February 1977 to 25 July 1977.
06Justice Mohd. Hidayatullah1979-1984Sixth Vice-President of India.  Acting President of India from 20 July 1969 to 24 August 1969 and from 6 October 1982 to 31 October 1982.
07R. Venkataraman1984-1987Eighth President of India. Seventh Vice-President of India.
08Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma1987-1992Eighth Vice President of India. 9Th President of India.
09K. R. Narayanan1992-1997Ninth Vice President. 10Th President of India.
10Krishna Kant1997-2002Tenth Vice President of India
11Bhairon Singh Shekhawat2002-200711th Vice-President of India
12Md. Hamid Ansari11 August 2007- 11 August 201712th and current Vice President of India
13Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu11 August 2017 To till now13th Vice President of India
The Vice President is elected for five years by an electoral college consisting of member of both the Houses of the Parliament in accordance with system of proportional representation by means of single transferable vote and the being secret. The Vice President must be citizen of India not be less than 35 Years of age and be qualified for member of Rajya Sabha. He must not hold any office of profits under Union, State or local authority. He takes charge of President when the president is unable to discharge his duties due to illness or some other reasons or in case of death, resignation or removal of the President. © 2017 all right reserved